Biblos

I’ve written about my love of the unassuming high street that makes up St Werburghs before. But haven’t given due credit to my favourite wrap joint which is a little too close to my house for comfort as I’m not very good at resisting its charms.

Biblos offers Mediterranean style salads, wraps and mezze dishes food from its little cafes in St Werburghs and Stokes Croft. For those feeling a little more adventurous, there is the veggie challenge which is, while enormous, not impossible to finish. However, I would advise going in with a huge appetite in order to conquer it. A stinking hangover usually does the trick.

I normally opt for a halloumi wrap, but decided to go for a halloumi salad with falafel and I was worried I would feel jealous of my companion’s carby wrapped up choices, but I was pleasantly surprised with my colourful plate of healthy treats.

The seeds and nuts were toasted to give it a lovely crunchy consistency. Chopped into the salad were bright pink pickled turnips, parsley and gherkins. The halloumi and falafels were, like they normally are from Biblos, lovely. Unlike many take-away shops, the falafel made at Biblos is rich with spice, crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside.

This BYO hangout both in St Werburghs and Stokes Croft has already become a favourite among the local community. It’s informal atmosphere, gives this cafe a relaxed feeling. You could happily spend an afternoon nibbling on Biblos mezzes while watching the world go by thanks to its alfresco style dinning (at St Werburghs only).

Don’t expect to be able to bring a big group to the St Werburghs cafe – it is very small and is often busy. But thankfully, if you head there on a hot day, there is a park opposite. The Stokes Croft branch is, however, marginally larger.

It is also very good value – my salad cost me a mere £5. The huge veggie challenge is only £6.50. Basically you can eat until you keel over on wonderful healthy and tasty dishes for well under a tenner.

Now, if only I could find a way of resisting its temptations!

Biblos

Biblos
82 Mina Road
St Werburghs
Bristol
BS2 9XW
Tel: 01179232737

Or

Biblos
62a Stokes Croft
Bristol
BS1 3QE
Tel: 0117 955 8887

http://www.tastybiblos.co.uk

Leave a Reply

