Not all products are quite as they seem!

It has recently come to my attention that many products that enrich their ingredients with Omega 3 may not be suitable for vegetarians.

I’ve noticed that more and more products, such as bread and orange juice, are adding Omega 3 to their ingredients lists. This is a marketing ploy to advertise a ‘healthy heart’ product range. However, often, Omega 3s are derived from fish. Omega 3 can also be made from plant matter, so be sure to read the label to check whether it is suitable for vegetarians before purchasing.

For example, Tropicana Healthy Heart Orange Juice contains MEG-3 which is fish oil and fish gelatine. In this case, the fish used are tilapia, sardine and anchovy.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: